It feels good to live

Milestones on top of milestones on top of milestones. Jakson went pee in his potty for the first time a couple days ago (yay!) and he also learned to climb steps (not so yay)! I think everytime I look away he’s grown so much. During these precious (and difficult) times I live for the moments I can hold on to through the temper tantrums and teething pains until the next one. This week has been pretty stressful, but Monday was one of the best days I’ve had in a long time and I want to hold onto that memory for dear life. Jaks and I were home alone all day, and we spent our night out on the porch watching the sun go down. Something about being outside in the beautiful weather just puts everyone in a better mood, but what really got me was our Ben E. King pandora radio station. Am I the only one who gets so extremely happy listening to 50’s/ 60’s music? The rhythm speaks to my soul and instantly puts a smile on my face. So on top of dancing around to our favorite jams, we made brownies and Jaks got to decorate them with Reese’s Peices. The best nights are the ones free of electronics and distractions, where you are just free to be free. Am I right? Not to mention Jakson is in a 100% better mood when we aren’t watching tv or entertaining ourselves with electronics. When in doubt take your kid outside and leave the electronics in. It feels good to go a few hours without virtual reality. (Because that is what social media is. None of those girls on Instagram are real y’all.) It feels good to LIVE. Days like Monday are what I want to remember about motherhood.

Leave a Reply

